I put the FUN into fundraising

I’ve always been very good at being clean, neat and organised. How can you function when everything’s all over the place and why go to a new country to sit at the beach all day, every day?

Anyhu, I’m currently preparing for my kindergarten students’ graduation and organising a fundraiser to raise money for the poor in Nepal. This, coupled with a few events on top, makes my life busy. But do you know what? It’s worth it! I’m driven to complete all things well. Not for my benefit really (except maybe my relationship with God), but to bring heaven down to earth. Every minor detail He takes notice of. Isn’t that cool?

I’m doing two graduation shows (I have two classes, which means 2×20 children). Each show is 12 minutes long. I don’t want to do a shabby show. In fact I want to go out with a ‘BANG’, and that means putting every effort into all the props, costumes, choreography, singing and speeches. I’m painting backgrounds that show off the artistic strength that God has blessed me with. I know that if I don’t do a good job, I’d be letting myself and God down. Why do anything that is half-hearted? He’s given you the authority and free will to use unique talents because He loves you and He hopes that you’d use them to love others. He will keep persuing you until you notice this because He is gracious and loving. Think of your strengths, work on them and try and not focus on your weaknesses.

I wanted to do a fundraiser because I want to do a lot of outreaching as possible whilst in Nepal. I’ve been very fortunate to be in contact with pastors and organisations who do community outreach in the city and in rural areas. I’d like to use the money to provide food, clothing or any other requirements for those who are in need. I can’t tell you how excited I am that I will be able to provide for children and families. I can’t wait to hear their stories and I can’t wait to see them smile (and I like hugs). I can’t wait to be the salt and light of the world to the Nepalese folk!!

I’ve never really organised and lead a public event before. But, to be honest with you, it’s not that hard with such an amazing bunch of friends, and friends of friends. I’ve actually found myself sitting back and relaxing as they take the lead. I see their creative juices flowing, and it gets me excited. I love that they get to show off their talents. Not only are my believer friends involved, but my non-believer friends too. It gives me great hope and faith in human beings, especially in the world we live in. I said that I’m excited about going to Nepal, but I’m just as excited about this one event too! God’s love is so great that it’s become so vivid in the run up to the fundraiser. For my non-believer friends, I’m not afraid to say this but you’ve got a little seed planted by God in your bodies!

It’s been a lot of fun working with the crew (Cat, Jo, Ping, Kelly, Marites, Romela, Norma, Bert, Lita, Courtney, Bethany, Weng). I’m thankful for clothes from Daniel, Renae, Aidan, Zoe and to those who are going to donate!

I continue to be amazed and I’m expectant.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I put the FUN into fundraising

  1. 劉芯妤 says:

    Hannah, I really like your article:)

Leave a comment